Berlingske wins European design awards

The winners in the 14th “European Newspaper Award” have been announced. 232 newspapers, six more than last year, from 25 countries took part in the competition.

The European Newspaper of the Year winners are, in the four categories:
Local newspaper: Bygdanytt, Norway; Regional newspaper: El Correo, Spain; National newspaper (two winners this year): De Tijd, Belgium and Trouw, the Netherlands; Weekly: Die Zeit, Germany.

A Judges’ Special Recognition was awarded to Welt am Sonntag, Kompakt, Germany.

Berlingske, winner of the European Newspaper of the Year 2012, was among the multiple winners in this years competition. Berlingske took home a total of 12 Awards of Excellence in different categories: Front page, Photo spreads and Visual storytelling, Visualization as well as in the magazine categories. Below are some of the pages the jury found worthy of an award this year. I’m pleased to see that “my” magazine, Berlingske Business Magasin, is a two-time winner!

Winner in the Front Page category 02/09/2012.

Winner in Photography Picture Page. Photo by Niels Ahlmann Olesen. 26/08/2012

Winner in Visualization category – Diet Coke turns 30. 23/09/2012. Design by Henriette Vabø.

Berlingske Business Magasin – winner in the Magazines category. 16/02/2012. Photo by Morten Germund.

Magazines. Berlingske Business Magasin 29/03/2012. Illustration by Pryds, with a little help from Colourbox 🙂

Magazines. Berlingske Business Magasin 29/03/2012.

See the full list of winners and more info at